18

Industry Snapshot: 56th Annual Fragrance Symposium

The 2010 American Society of Perfumers Symposium featured a panel that considered the relationship of perfumers to the marketing of fragrances, the relative virtues of so-called flankers, the importance of the blogosphere and how the industry must change to achieve success in fragrance. Meanwhile, designer John Varvatos received the Legend Award, Jack Mowen received the Lifetime Achievement Award and Jim Krivda (Mane) received the William Lambert Award. Find more photos and speaker highlights at *www.perfumerflavorist.com/events/coverage*.



The event featured a busy networking period between a panel discussion and an award luncheon.



The ASP panel pictured left to right: moderator Cutler Whitman (Fragrance Resources), Marian Bendeth (Sixth Scents), Marsha Brooks (Coty US), Kate Greene (Givaudan), Karyn Khoury (The Esteé Lauder Companies Inc.), Linda Levy (Macy's Inc.), Nicholas Ratut (John Varvatos Fragrances) and Harry Slatkin (Slatkin & Co.).



Ralf Schweiger (Mane) and Nathan Janz (Northwest Aromatics).



Dave Soltis (Vigon) and Izzy Helller (Bedoukian).



Robert Stapf and Don Latici (both drom).



Kate Greene (Givaudan) and Karyn Khoury (Esteé Lauder).



Nicholas Ratut (John Varvatos Fragrances) and Harry Slatkin (Limited Brands/Slatkin & Co.).



Harry Slatkin (Limited Brands/Slatkin & Co.) and Christophe Laudamiel (Aeosphere).





Marsha Brooks (Coty Beauty), Frédéric Jacques (Mane) and Linda Levy (Macy's).



Nicholas Ratut (John Varvatos Fragrances), Rodrigo Flores-Roux (Givaudan) and Edward Houlihan (Shiseido).



ASP president Dennis Maroney (IFF) and Legend Award recipient John Varvatos.



Robert Stapf, Andy O'Shea and Jean Claude Delville (all drom).



Dirk Braun (Symrise), Paige Crist (Perfumer & Flavorist magazine) and Fred Kritzer (Symrise).



Christian Truc and Jean Claude Delville (both drom), and Olivia Jan (Robertet).



Marion Brooks (Citrus & Allied), Brett Guinta (Creative Concepts) and Julie Petrov (Creative Concepts).



Gary Sallick (Takasago), Richard Winter (Symrise) and Jon Schuster (Symrise).



Guest speaker Danny Boome (Food Network's Rescue Chef) brought a culinary twist to the day's marketing themes.



Former ASP president Jim Krivda (Mane) received the William Lambert Award for his contributions to the ASP and the fragrance industry at large; Krivda is pictured here with his wife, Irene.



Pierre Wulff and Jerome Epinette (both Robertet).



Fred Kritzer (Symrise) and Celine Roche (Mane).



Jack Mowen received the Lifetime Achievement Award; Mowen's 25-plus-year career included positions at Takasago in Japan, France and the United States. His extensive experience around the globe honed his insights into the creative and marketing facets of the fragrance industry.

To purchase a copy of this article or others, visit www.PerfumerFlavorist.com/magazine.