2011 IFRA North America Spring Dinner

The fragrance industry gathers to celebrate two key figures

he International Fragrance Association North America (IFRA NA) Spring Dinner honored two key industry figures—Peter Lombardo, president of Robertet North America, and Glenn Roberts, former Fragrance Materials Association executive director.

Lombardo, in receiving the 2011 Eric Bruell Distinguished Service Award, fondly recalled the award's namesake as a great and fair businessman. He also thanked three generations of the Maubert family who "always trusted and supported me" in his endeavors at Robertet—a company he has served since 1974. He closed by highlighting the ongoing importance of proindustry organizations such as IFRA, noting, "Once we get in the room, it's all about the industry."

Roberts, receiving the Special Lifetime Achievement Award, was recognized for his years spent advising the fragrance industry on strategic matters. He encouraged the industry to continue getting engaged in politics before laws are proposed or passed. Roberts, who discussed the successful fight against nongovernmental organizations' exploitation of Multiple Chemical Sensitivity, said, "The activists are going to be with us for a long time." In closing, he declared that fragrance is an art and encouraged the audience, "Never stop thinking of it that way in public conversation."



Bill Troy (Firmenich) and Stephen Manheimer (Kerry).



Achim Daub (Symrise) and Steve Tanner (Arylessence).



Kim Bleimann (Berje), Pierre Sivac (IFRA), Bill Troy (Firmenich) and Jennifer Abril (IFRA North America).



Bill Troy (Firmenich).



Gillian Bleimann and Kim Bleimann (both Berje).



Julien Maubert, Arnaud Adrian and Ray Hone (all Robertet).



Peter Lombardo (Robertet) and Bill Troy (Firmenich); Lombardo was the recipient of the 2011 Eric Bruell Distinguished Service Award.



Attendees celebrated the contributions Peter Lombardo and Glenn Roberts have made to IFRA and the fragrance industry.



Sean Traynor (Takasago) and Jennifer Abril (IFRA North America).



George Janow (Berje) and Paige Crist (Perfumer & Flavorist magazine).



Loren Michael (Charkit), John Potocek (Frutarom), Florentina Cimpian (Charkit) and Morry Seidel (Frutarom).



Glenn Roberts received the 2011 Special Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Kim Bleimann (Berje) and Sean Traynor (Takasago).